Why I Rise and Why You Should Too!

One Billion Rising is an excellent opportunity for agencies in the twin cities to come together to share why they think it is important to end violence against women and girls. It is also the perfect way to let out some stress of the week in a healthy way by participating in an hour of Zumba and Yoga.

One in three women is sexually assaulted in her lifetime. Statistics show you are more likely to be assaulted by someone you know opposed to a stranger. This makes it extremely difficult to come forward and identify as a survivor. One of the goals of One Billion Rising is to let survivors, of all types of violence, know they have a group of individuals who support and believe them. Stepping Stones, other local agencies, and individuals are constantly working to spread awareness of violence against women and what resources are available in the community to help. One Billion Rising is a way to recognize that we cannot end violence against women without looking at the intersection of poverty, racism, and sexism. It is a way to spread the idea of innovative justice as a whole.

I rise because I believe that a woman should not have to live in fear while walking to her car after work at night. I rise because I believe that every individual has their own story to tell and deserves a chance to have at least one person believe them. I rise because I believe there is strength in numbers. I hope you will rise with me in the YWCA McLean County gym on Friday, February 14 from 12-1 p.m. and tell me why you rise!

Lynn SamuelsonHello! My name is Lynn and I am a crisis advocate/intern at YWCA Stepping Stones, which means I’m a counselor and I help with any and everything else that Stepping Stones does as a program. I am the oldest of six and am obsessed with my golden retriever, Champ. I graduate with my bachelors in Social Work from Illinois State University in May 2014. I have grown to have a passion for working with survivors of sexual assault and hope to continue to work with this population and their families in the future.

Leave a Reply

