RSVP Volunteer Art Runyon Shares Time & Talent with Habitat for Humanity

Art Runyon, an 85 year old retired United Methodist Minister, enjoys the camaraderie, caring and compassion of his inspirational crew on every Habitat for Humanity build site.

Image

“In the four churches I have served over the years, I have always enjoyed assisting with building repairs and remodeling. I guess I just love the hands on work and the ability to help others have a better future,” states Art.

After 44 years as a Minister, Art moved to Bloomington and helped build the house he currently lives in. In 1995, he because a volunteer at the Ironwood Golf Course and was introduced to YWCA Mclean County’s Retired & Senior Volunteer Program (RSVP) through the Normal Rotary Club. Rotary had called for volunteers to help build a house through Habitat for Humanity.

“I enjoyed the experience so much; I became part of the old “Retired Crew” and have continued to work with Habitat for years. The RSVP records say I’ve been a member for 18 years! Time simply flies when you’re having fun!”

While Art’s work has been limited in the last few years, Art still enjoys working on the scaffold with his crew, using a hammer and paint brush, is a pro at cleaning the worksite, and enjoys loading and unloading the trucks full of recycled material.

“Volunteering is my way of giving back. Throughout my career I had limited income; my greatest gift was time and energy. The Retired Crew has been a great fellowship. I am humbled by the volunteers I work with.”

Image

To learn more about the Retired & Senior Volunteer Program, or Habitat for Humanity, contact YWCA Program Coordinator, Colleen Steinberg at (309) 662-0461 ext. 267 or csteinberg@ywcamclean.org.

Leave a Reply

