The First Step is a Lonely Road

By: Glendene Altomari, RSVP Volunteer

ImageWhat does it mean to be an RSVP volunteer?

Volunteering is little like making a group of new friends who just never go away! You never lose them, and sometimes it’s as much fun as being back in school (without the homework)!

As an RSVP volunteer, I have learned the basic understandings of how a library functions, how to plan a fundraiser that draws in the entire community, the cultural importance of museum restoration, and the blessings associated with working with patients in hospitals.

Volunteering is an essential way to keep away the isolation blues and also the “new kid on the block” blues. When I first moved to Bloomington in 2001, I was fortunate enough to stumble upon the YWCA Senior Advisory Council. I knew nobody on the council, but soon came to understand the basic happenings of my new town (and how to begin my new life in the state of Illinois). The Senior Advisory Council led me to my current role at OSF St. Joseph Medical Center where I have found friends, family, and a new outlook on the importance of staying active, healthy, and connected to my community.

It’s always a fun job to meet new people, and the warm feelings generated by helping others in small ways are blessings indeed. Volunteering has become a main stay in my life and I look forward to the many more years I am able to give back to my community.

Leave a Reply

